Welcome From AFE

A dedicated Board of Trustees representing all industry segments serves the Endowment. All Trustees serve without monetary compensation of any kind and take part in all AFE activities, meetings and travel at their own expense.

AFE’s Trustees play a crucial role in setting the long-term strategic direction of the organization. They help define the organization’s mission and vision and develop strategic goals and plans to achieve them. They are responsible for the wise and prudent use of money contributed to the Endowment, establishing and upholding the organization’s governance policies and practices, ensuring compliance with relevant laws and regulations, maintaining ethical standards, and oversight and funding for organizational and industry growth.

Board of Trustee members are elected by the Board and serve a three-year term.  Trustees can be appointed to one additional three-year term. View Past Trustees and Chairmen here.

Board of Trustees

Ken Young

Phoenix Flower Shops
Scottsdale, Arizona

David Garcia

Pete Garcia Company/Garcia Group
Peachtree Corners, Georgia

Laura Shinall

Past Chairman
FreshPath Marketing
Charleston, South Carolina

Greg Royer

Royer’s Flowers & Gifts
Lebanon, Pennsylvania

Bill Foster

Victor, New York

Pat Dahlson

Executive Committee
Mayesh Wholesale Florist, Inc.
Los Angeles, California

David Boulton (Emeritus)

Flowers by George, Inc.
Arlington, Washington

Jim Daly (Past Chairman, Emeritus)

Smithers-Oasis/Floralife/DESIGN MASTER
Walterboro, South Carolina

Kelvin Frye

Syndicate Sales
Kokomo, Indiana

Steve Frye

Baisch & Skinner
St. Louis, Missouri

Gustavo Gilchrist

Kennicott Brothers Company
Chicago, Illinois

Ockert Greyvenstein

Ball Horticultural Company
Elburn, Illinois

Jeronimo Herrera

Jardines de los Andes
Bogota, Colombia

Mauricio Jaramillo

Solé Farms
Miami, Florida

Jackie Lacey

Jacksonville, Florida

Tim Noble

Hortica Insurance
Edwardsville, Illinois

Vijay Rapaka

Kent, Ohio

Art Van Wingerden

Metrolina Greenhouses
Huntersville, North Carolina

Adam Van Winkle

Stadium Flowers
Everett, Washington

YPC Advisor to the Board

Dr. Melinda Knuth

North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC


Debi Chedester, CAE, IOM, AAF

Executive Director

Karin Krause

Manager of Communications & Outreach

Michelle Van Norden

Manager of Development & Donor Engagement

Candice Musgrove

Program Coordinator

Grace Alvarez

Communications Coordinator

Laura Barth

Research Coordinator

Looking For Funding?

AFE is committed to supporting research that advances the industry and combats current challenges. This research benefits every segment of the industry. We welcome new research proposal applications by August 1st of each year.