Click Here to Support AFE



Board of Trustees and Staff

AFE_logo_small_green_2011 copy 2 copyA dedicated Board of Trustees representing all industry segments serves the Endowment. All Trustees serve without monetary compensation of any kind and take part in all AFE activities, meetings and travel at their own expense. Their top duties are fundraising and responsibility for the wise and prudent use of money contributed to the Endowment.

Board of Trustee members are elected by the Board and serve a three-year term.  Trustees can be appointed to one additional three-year term.


Jim Daly Chairman Floralife/Smithers-Oasis Walterboro, South Carolina

Dwight Larimer Past-Chairman DESIGN MASTER color tool, inc. Boulder, Colorado

Greg Royer Royer’s Flowers & Gifts Lebanon, Pennsylvania

Laura Shinall Chairman-Elect Syndicate Sales, Inc. Kokomo, Indiana

Randy Tagawa Treasurer/Secretary Tagawa Greenhouses Brighton, Colorado

Ken Young Phoenix Flower Shops Scottsdale, Arizona


David Boulton Flowers by George, Inc. Arlington, Washington

Megan Bowman, Ph.D. Ball Horticultural Co. Chicago, Illinois

Pat Dahlson Mayesh Wholesale Florist, Inc. Los Angeles, California

Bill Fernandez Continental Flowers Miami, Florida

Bill Foster BioWorks Victor, New York

Steve Frye Baisch & Skinner St. Louis, Missouri

David Garcia The Pete Garcia Co. Atlanta, Georgia

Gustavo Gilchrist Kennicott Brothers Company Chicago, Illinois

Cindy Hanauer Grand Central Floral Jacksonville, Florida

Mauricio Jaramillo Solé Farms Miami, Florida

Michael A. Mellano, Ph.D. Mellano & Company San Luis Rey, California

Juan Carlos Gonzalez Uribe G.R. CHIA Colombia, S.A.

Art VanWingerden Metrolina Greenhouses Huntersville, NC



Debi Chedester Executive Director

Karin Krause Manager of Communications & Outreach

Candice Musgrove Program Coordinator

Terril A. Nell, Ph.D. Research Coordinator

Contact AFE